Frequently Asked Questions

Here are answers to some of your most common ice cream questions! If you don’t find the information you are looking for, please contact us here or by calling 1-800-265-9110.

Chapman’s is a proud supporter of Canadian dairy farmers. ALL our products that contain milk ingredients are made with 100% Canadian Dairy.

Yes! Chapman’s offers many peanut/nut free products, including Markdale Creamery ice cream, Sorbet, Super Premium Plus ice cream, and a variety of novelties. Our peanut/nut free products are clearly labeled with the RED peanut/nut free flag. Not all our products are safe, so always look for our peanut/nut free label. Learn More

Our annual coupon is issued via Canada Post Lettermail, with an average delivery time of 8-12 weeks from the time your coupon request was submitted. If you haven’t received your coupon after 12 weeks, please contact us at

Yes! All Chapman’s Markdale Creamery ice cream products in 2L and 4L tubs, and Sorbet 2L tubs are gluten free. We also make some gluten free stick novelties. Just look for the Gluten Free symbol on our packaging. Click here to learn more about our gluten free products.

Yes! Chapman’s No Sugar Added & Lactose Free 1L ice cream and sandwiches, as well as our Sorbets and most of our Lolly’s are lactose free. Click here to learn more about our lactose free products.

Yes! Chapman’s No Sugar Added & Lactose-Free 1L ice cream and novelties were developed to meet the needs of people on sugar restricted diets. Look for the flower on our packaging! Click here to learn more.

Modified milk ingredients are naturally part of whole milk and have been separated or modified using a mechanical process or by culturing. Cheese whey is an example you may be familiar with.

Carrageenan is a fibre derived from Red Seaweed. It’s used in the production of ice cream to help thicken the mix and to help emulsify the butterfat. Carrageenan is accepted as a food ingredient in many countries throughout the world. Despite what you may have read on the internet, there have been no scientifically-valid studies showing that it causes any harm to humans.

Yes! All our products are Kosher. Click here to view our Kosher Certificate.

Our Store Locator will help you find Chapman’s ice cream and frozen treats at a store near you. Click here to learn more.

No. We’re sorry, but Chapman’s ice cream and frozen treats are only available in Canada.

Ice cream will not melt into a puddle like an ice cube does. The butterfat and milk proteins along with the stabilizers help uphold the structure of the ice cream to prevent it from losing air and to prevent the water from seeping out as the ice cream warms up. All the ice cream ingredients are safe to eat. Our ice cream has no preservatives so we would not recommend consuming it after it has been left out in the heat for a few hours.

Stabilizers are used in the production of ice cream to produce smoothness in body and texture, reduce ice crystal growth during storage, and to prevent shrinkage during storage.

We use different stabilizers for different products. For example, only Guar Gum is used in Lolly’s. And Chapman’s Ice Cream products are not made with any animal by-products, such as gelatin, or any animal-sourced oil or fat. Naturally, the dairy ingredients come from cows!

Whichever stabilizer we use, these ingredients represent less than 0.5% (half of 1%) of the finished product.

Here’s a list of the ingredients that are components of the stabilizers found in Chapman’s products:

  • Mono and Diglycerides (derived from soybeans)
  • Locust Bean Gum (derived from the locust bean plant)
  • Cellulose Gum or Methyl Cellulose Gum (derived from cottonseed linters)
  • Guar Gum (derived from the guar plant)
  • Carrageenan (derived from seaweed)

The only animal products found in Chapman’s ice cream are milk (from Canadian cows) and, for a limited number of flavours, eggs.

Please visit our Food Service page for more information. Or contact us here or by calling 1-800-265-9110.

Gluten free ice cream sandwiches cannot be manufactured on our current sandwich machines, as regular sandwich cookies containing gluten are produced on the same line. In order to produce gluten free sandwiches, we will require a new production line, which would be a big undertaking. That said, we are looking at possibilities of introducing a gluten free ice cream sandwich in the future. In the meantime, there is a great and very simple gluten free recipe we would like to share with you

Soy derived products are used in our manufacturing areas, so we do not guarantee any of our products to be free of this allergen. Depending on the severity of your soy allergy, unfortunately we cannot recommend any of our products.

Our Canadian Collection novelties, which are 55mL each, were created in small serving sizes for people who are watching their calorie intake. These sophisticated treats in a petite size are very popular among many Canadians. If you’re looking for a bigger ice cream treat, you might be interested in checking out our Yukon products that are large premium ice cream novelties. You can explore all of our Yukon products here